THE CAMPAIGN FOR BETTER LETTER WRITING

Past Post

In Letter Writing, Post in the World on May 22, 2009 at 9:43 am

Stephen Fry wrote a letter to his 16 year old self. It starts,

I hope you are well. I know you are not.

And his letter has begun a whole raft of readers’ letters to their past selves. It seems like a savvy thing to do – a way to bring a Proust-y kind of remembrance in to your every day life. Why not have a go yourself?

One thing I did once was write to my Self a year later. I hid the letter in an envelope between some old books. It truly was a surprise when I came across the letter one whole year later (it was a letter for later), as planned. In it, I said things like: “You don’t like this and this and this – so change.” And – strangely – the things had changed.

The next day, my ceiling fell in.

  1. Well, I don’t know if the ceilling fell on everyone of the person who wrote a letter into the future on the website : http://www.futureme.org but it is the same thing and it is interesting to see what people have to say to themself.

    I keep forgetting to write to myself. I should write a post-it about it.

Leave a Reply

